Shifting focus

Posted on Updated on

I used to have an “About Me” page on my blog, but in this ever changing world, it’s been difficult for me to keep it updated. Thus, here is my attempt at sharing some updates about me. I originally started my blog as a way to keep my friends and family updated on my adventures in Spain. I thoroughly enjoyed sharing all of my experiences with you, the readers, and getting feedback via comments and e-mails. In fact, I enjoyed blogging so much that I’ve decided to continue! The only problem is I’m not in Spain anymore…therefore, the focus of my blog is shifting.

480

Many things have happened within the past year, and so it is only fitting that my blog reflect those changes. Last May, I graduated with bachelors degrees in Biology and Modern Languages (Spanish). I studied Biology because I new it would provide a way for me to reach my ultimate career goal: becoming a dentist and helping provide healthcare to under served areas.  I studied a foreign language because learning about different cultures fascinates me, and I think it is beneficial to know Spanish in today’s global community. After graduation, I spent my summer working, applying to dental school, and preparing for my upcoming trip to Spain. As evident by my blog, I loved my experience in Spain and I look forward to returning someday. However, I now have some exciting news to share…I’ve been accepted to dental school! After five years of challenging undergraduate courses, studying for the DAT, and spending a large amount of time shadowing other dentists, I’ve finally been accepted to a DDS program, and I couldn’t be happier!

560

I’m not quite sure what this means for my blog, but if you’ve enjoyed reading about my interests in Spain and seeing my photos, I can assure you that these types of posts will continue. I love learning about Spain, Mexico, Central, and South America, and I hope to continue to share my thoughts on the cultures in these regions. I’ve also just recently begun to dip my toes into photography and cooking, so I’m excited to see what I can learn. Just be expecting some dentistry related posts too!

remember

Photos by Megan Coffroth and a-thousand-words.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

