A Sevillian Carriage Ride

Posted on Updated on

This week I’ve been feeling particularly homesick…for Spain. I think it’s time for another post about one of my Spanish adventures. This post is about Sevilla (Seville), particularly the Maria Luisa Park. I visit Sevilla for the day with my host family. We drove from Granada to Sevilla in the morning and spent the afternoon in Sevilla. We then drove to Cordoba that evening. It was a whirlwind of a trip with so many new things to see!

Upon arrival in Sevilla, we walked around for a while before finding a horse drawn carriage tour. We spent the large majority of the tour in Maria Luisa Park. Stretching along the Guadalquivir River,  the Maria Luisa Park is a large public park in the heart of Sevilla. At one point the park was used for the Ibero-American Exposition of 1929, and contains several buildings constructed specifically for the exposition. Enjoy the greenery and Plaza de España in Maria Luisa Park!

IMG_1104

IMG_1106

IMG_1107

IMG_1110

IMG_1112

IMG_1124

IMG_1125

IMG_1127

IMG_1129

IMG_1132

IMG_1135

Sevilla is definitely on my list of places to visit when I return to Spain. As I mentioned, my host family and I only spent the afternoon there. However, there are so many museums and historic monuments that one could easily spend several days in this beautiful Andalusian city. Have you ever been to Sevilla? Do you have any suggestions for things to see? Let me know!

“There are no foreign lands. It is the traveler only who is foreign.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

Photos by Megan Coffroth

Leave a Reply

