The Alhambra

Posted on Updated on

Over the years, I’ve realized that I am definitely a history buff. The idea of standing in the same spot and seeing the same views as someone who lived over 1000 years ago never ceases to amaze me. Of all of the historical monuments I’ve visited, nothing mystifies me as much as the Alhambra. Built in Granada, Spain during the 9th century, the Alhambra was the royal residence of the last Muslim emirs of the Nasrid dynasty. If you’d like a more detailed history, check out my post My Spain Top 5. While I was thoroughly impressed by Gaudí’s Sagrada Familia, I was truly in awe of the Alhambra.

I was so blessed to be able to visit the Alhambra with my Spanish host family. Evidently you must get your tickets pretty far in advance if you want to visit the Alhambra, so thankfully my host mom ordered ours about two months before our visit. The morning of our visit, we took a bus from the center of Granada to the top of al-Sabika hill. We then waited in line for about twenty minutes before beginning our walking tour of the former military fortress. We spent the entire morning walking through the grounds and absorbing the enchanting atmosphere of the Alhambra.

IMG_1336
IMG_1337

IMG_1344
IMG_1367
IMG_1375
IMG_1387
IMG_1394

The Alhambra is by far one of the coolest places I’ve visited. What about you? How do you feel about  visiting historical sites?

“On such heavenly nights I would sit for hours at my window inhaling the sweetness of the garden, and musing on the checkered fortunes of those whose history was dimly shadowed out in the elegant memorials around.”  – Washington Irving

Photos by Megan Coffroth

2 thoughts on “The Alhambra

    TravelingMad said:
    January 4, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    This is pretty cool.

      Megan Coffroth responded:
      March 12, 2014 at 8:41 am

      It’s really stunning in person! I’ve never seen anything like it.

Leave a Reply

