La Feria de Albacete

Posted on Updated on

Normally I wouldn’t post a blurry picture like this. However, I kind of like it and I feel like it really sums up my experience at the Feria in Albacete.

IMG_0438

Almost every person I’ve talked to has told me about Albacete’s Feria. Aditionally, television and radio adds are describing it as the best Feria in Spain. So when I was given the opportunity to attend with a teacher from my school, I didn’t hesitate. Let me tell you, the Albacete Feria did not disappoint.

Albacete’s Feria is held in the city of Albacete in Castilla-La Mancha, Spain each year from Spetember 7th through the 17th. The Feria has hundreds of attractions for people of ALL ages. As I walked through the historic fairground, I observed tons of stalls selling everything imaginable. Albacete is known for it’s cuchillos (knives), so there were many stalls selling kitchenware. Anything from handbags to t-shirts to candles to jewelry to…(you name it!)… could be found in a stall at the Feria. There were also tons of temporary restaurants for people to eat at and temporary nightclubs for people to dance in. There were even the typical carnival rides that we associate with fairs in the U.S. The picture above is of a HUGE ferris wheel.

I obtained a program detailing all the Feria events, and there is literally something every hour each day from 8 am until midnight (for 10 days)! There are concerts, and exhibits, and movie showings, and (you guessed it) bull fights with the best matadors in Spain! Each day is jam packed full of events!

Out of everything I experienced at the Feria, my favorite part was…the food (of course)! Here are some traditional Spanish foods:

Croquetas – Mixture of jamón (ham), milk, and flour that has been rolled, breaded, and fried.

Chocolate con churros – Self-explanatory

Miguelito – Flaky pastry, covered in powdered sugar, with a creme filling.

Cidra – Fermented alcoholic beverage made from apples.

Honestly, this blog post doesn’t do the Albacete Feria justice. The best way to describe it is as a non-stop party unlike any you’ve been to. If you’re ever in Spain September 7th-17th, you must make it a priority to experience the Feria in Albacete!

Have you ever gone to the Albacete Feria or another Feria in Spain? What are your thoughts?

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

Images courtesy of Wikipedia.org

Leave a Reply

