My visit to Alarcón

Posted on Updated on

My host family and the teachers at my school have all been telling me that I need to visit the Spanish pueblo Alarcón. Here’s some history and some highlights from my trip to this medieval town.

IMG_0415

Alarcón, a town in Castilla-La Mancha, Spain, is famous for its castillo (castle). The castle was originally founded by the Muslims in the 8th century and was then captured by King Alfonso VIII in the 12th century.

IMG_0419

El castillo observed the death of the Muslim prince El Ciego, and the conquest of the Christians led by Martín Ceballos.

IMG_0436

Today, the castle is a Parador hotel. Paradores are luxury hotels located in historic buildings. This means, you can stay at the castle!

IMG_0435

Here are some more pictures of the pueblo!

IMG_0426

IMG_0428

IMG_0429

What about you? Have you ever been to Alarcón or stayed at a Parador hotel?

“Travel is fatal to predjudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness.” – Mark Twain

Photos by Megan Coffroth

2 thoughts on “My visit to Alarcón

    Katelan Jae said:
    October 16, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    This is beautiful!

    2014 Year in Review « Nuevas aventuras said:
    December 30, 2014 at 8:54 am

    […] only things I didn’t see there were Belmonte and the famous windmills. Another trip then! 5. My Visit to Alarcón – This post really doesn’t have much text, and I think it was initially popular because […]

Leave a Reply

