Castilla-La Mancha highlights

Posted on Updated on

With 20 days to go until I head to Spain, I decided to take some time to research more about the area in which I’ll be living: Castilla-La Mancha. I’ve included brief histories and photos of some of the region’s highlights!

Don Quixote

Castilla-La Mancha is home to the famous literary hero Don Quixote. The book Don Quixote was written by Miguel de Cervantes in two separate volumes written in 1605 and 1615. Considered as one of the greatest works of literature ever published, the book portrays the adventures of Don Quixote and his self-proclaimed mission to revive chivalry with his squire Sancho Panza by his side. Castilla-La Mancha provides an excellent backdrop for Don Quixote’s grand adventure!

823

Toledo

Toledo, the capital of Castilla-La Mancha, is a UNESCO World Heritage City and famous for its historical coexistence of Christianity, Judaism, and Islam. The influences from all three religions can be seen in the city’s architecture. Pretty cool!

098

140

Cuenca

Cuenca has Muslim origins, but was overtaken by the Christians in the 12th century. Cuenca is also a UNESCO World Heritage City admired for its Moorish and Christian architecture, Spain’s first Gothic cathedral, and the “casas colgadas” (hanging houses).

IMG_0983

Belmonte

The town of Belmonte is famous for its 15th century castle which is notably one of the best-preserved castles in Spain.  The castle features a mixture of Gothic and Mudéjar architecture. Don Quixote is also known to have dined at this castle!


Los Molinos

Castilla-La Mancha is well known for its abundance of windmills due to the fame of its beloved hero Don Quixote. El hombre de La Mancha is known for his iconic fight with a windmill in Cervantes’ book. (Side note: Did anyone ever watch the episode of Wishbone that featured Don Quixote? Loved it!) Today, the towns of Campo de Criptana and Consuegra are known to have the best Spanish windmills.

losmolinos

So here are some highlights de Castilla-La Mancha! Hopefully I can make it to all of them. What do you think? Have you seen/do you want to see the highlights of Castilla-La Mancha? Did I forget any? Let me know!

“Thou hast seen nothing yet.” – Miguel de Cervantes

http://www.whatspain.com/castilla-mancha-highlights.html

6 thoughts on “Castilla-La Mancha highlights

    Cuenca « Nuevas aventuras said:
    February 19, 2014 at 11:16 am

    […] Have you ever been to Cuenca? If not, would you like to go? Which locations top your list? Also, if you’re interested in more of what Castilla-La Mancha has to offer, check out my post Castilla-La Mancha highlights. […]

    Lovrina Castillo said:
    February 24, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    Hi There,

    I found your blog on the CIEE website and was wondering if you had a personal email I can reach you on. I am also interested in the CIEE teach volunteer program, and was wondering if you wouldn’t mind answering a few questions I had about the Castilla La Mancha program.

    Thanks!

      Megan Coffroth responded:
      February 24, 2014 at 6:35 pm

      Sure thing! I’ll send you an e-mail.

      Jaime said:
      May 8, 2014 at 4:42 pm

      Are you heading to Castilla La-Mancha for the 2014-2015 Auxiliares program? If so, please let me know! I was offered a placement there and would love to hear from someone else in the same boat.

        Megan Coffroth responded:
        May 8, 2014 at 6:56 pm

        That’s exciting! I was just in Castilla-La Mancha last September – November. I loved it!

    2014 Year in Review « Nuevas aventuras said:
    December 30, 2014 at 8:54 am

    […] many suggestions out there. Luckily, I found a fellow blogger’s site to help me out. 4. Castilla-La Mancha Highlights – I wrote this post once I figured out where I would be living. It is similar in style to My […]

Leave a Reply

