Me voy a España

Posted on Updated on

I have some exciting news to announce! I’ve accepted a position as a CIEE Teach in Spain Volunteer for the fall! The Council on International Educational Exchange is a non-profit organization promoting international education and exchange. It was founded in 1947 and is based in USA. As a Teach In Spain Volunteer, I’ll be volunteering as a language and culture assistant in a public school in the Castilla-La Mancha region September through November. I’m beyond excited to once again immerse myself in the Spanish culture as well as gain an invaluable teaching experience. As a language and culture assistant, my job will be to increase cultural and linguistic understanding between the citizens of Spain and North America. As of now, I don’t know the town I will be living and working in, and I don’t know the ages of students I’ll be working with, but I know that I’ll be volunteering for about 12 hours each week. I will also receive three hours of Spanish-Language lessons each week! Yay! Más español para mi!

519

Since I’ll only be volunteering for about 12 hours each week, I’ll also have time to explore Castilla-La Mancha! The Castilla-La Mancha region lies directly in the heart of Spain. The region is divided into the five provinces of Albacete, Ciudad Real, Cuenca, Guadalajara, and Toledo. Each province is named after its capital city with the city of Toledo being the capital of Castilla-La Mancha. Toledo and Cuenca are both designated as World Heritage cities.

156

The Castilla-La Mancha region is also home to the famous literary hero Don Quixote de La Mancha, as well as the famous painter El Greco. Known to be one of the less populated regions in Spain, Castilla-La Mancha is known for its natural landscape. I just found out that it has the largest number of officially designated nature reserves, nature areas and national parks!

146

In addition to exploring Castilla-La Mancha, I’m hoping I’ll have the time to travel to some other cities in Spain. If you haven’t already, check out My Spain Top 5 and read about the places I hope to visit! Where else should I go while I’m in Spain? Any suggestions or travel tips?

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” – Henry Miller

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CIEE

http://www.ciee.org/teach/spain/volunteer/job-description.aspx

http://www.spain.info/en_US/que-quieres/ciudades-pueblos/comunidades-autonomas/castilla-la_mancha.html

5 thoughts on “Me voy a España

    Lisandra Santiago said:
    July 12, 2013 at 6:56 am

    Megan! I’m so happy for you!! I know how much you love the hispanic culture and Spanish! 🙂 I just saw your top 5 and they are excellent!!! My mom went on late May to Spain (again) to visit Santiago de Compostela, and they did the ‘Camino de Santiago’, but just 3 cities. They loved and enjoyed the experience, as well the cities, so knowing your adventurous spirit you should go there! I can send you later their trip info. Also, they normally make a book with all the info of what they will be doing and staying so I can know in case of an emergency. If I found those, I will ask you your postal address to send it to you so you can have ideas of what to do!!! Take care, and get ready!!! 🙂

    Also, I have been to the National Museum of Reina Sofía, and La Guernica is huge! Something really extraordinary and you can learn so much from it! So its a must!!!

      Megan Coffroth responded:
      July 13, 2013 at 12:07 pm

      Thanks Lisandra! That’s so cool that your mom did the Camino! I’ve been to the cathedral in Santiago de Compostela, but I haven’t done the Camino. I’ll let you know my address once I find out. I hope you’re doing well! 🙂

    Rachel Budke said:
    July 12, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    Sounds amazing!!! I’m so happy for you! I just might have to take a trip and visit you! 🙂 If you’d have time for a trip to Italy, mi apartamento es su apartamento!

      Megan Coffroth responded:
      July 13, 2013 at 12:08 pm

      Thank you so much! You’ll have to let me know where you’re at in Italy and I’ll try to see if I can make it your way!

    An Intro to Barcelona and Gaudí | Nuevas aventuras said:
    September 27, 2013 at 6:54 am

    […] 21 CIEE Auxiliares de Conversacion in the Castilla-La Mancha region of Spain. Check out my post Me voy a España if you want to read more about the program. We met each other September 1st, spent two days […]

Leave a Reply

