Work to live

Posted on Updated on

Before I studied in Spain I was told, “Spaniards do not live to work, but work to live.” I’ve been thinking about this concept a lot recently given what’s transpired in my life this past year. The ups and downs. The highs and lows, if you will. While I try not to dwell too much on “what if” scenarios, I do try to reason through situations that haven’t gone as I would have liked. Immediately, one situation comes to mind: applying to professional school. To make a long story short, I poured my heart into an application only to find out that deadlines essentially don’t matter in a rolling admissions process. Not receiving any interview offers for professional school was devastating. I failed at the goal I had worked toward for five years. So how do you rebound from something like that? Work harder! I realized I needed to make getting into professional school my number one priority. Nothing was going to stand in the way of my career path. It was the only thing that mattered.

024

Fast forward a few months. I recently got coffee with a close friend of mine who is currently in professional school. As if it isn’t obvious given that she’s in professional school, let me just say that she is the most academically driven and disciplined person I know. No exaggeration. This is someone who has truly given her all to her chosen career path. She loves learning about her career field. However, I just learned that this exceptional student is having a very rough time right now in her program and is extremely stressed. I have no doubt that she will get through this struggle and be an even more amazing professional because of it, yet during our conversation I found myself thinking, “I’m not even in a professional program yet. If she’s struggling, how will I EVER survive?!” I can feel the stress begin to build already, and I’m not even in professional school!

So here I am. Once again reflecting on this notion of working to live rather than living to work. Throughout my academic career, I’ve always been looking ahead to the next step. Where do I want to be and what must I do to get there? Now don’t get me wrong it’s essential to have goals, yet I often feel like our society places too much emphasis on the next step. I have had an academic adviser tell me to give up something I loved in the hope that something else might look better on a resume/curriculum vitae/transcript.  That just doesn’t seem right to me. Giving up everything else to pursue a career we think we want is common in our culture, and it’s easy to get wrapped up planning what the next step should be. I feel like I fully understand the live to work mentality.

040

Now how about the work to live philosophy? As mentioned earlier, I didn’t quite understand this concept until I lived in Spain. During my month in Spain, I found it very much true that Spaniards worked to live. Their careers were only one facet of their lives. They worked so that they could afford to do other things they were passionate about. I observed that each day was centered around time with family and friends. People spent their free time strolling in the parks and conversing at street-side cafes. Everyone had a large mid-afternoon break to eat lunch and spend time with their families. I’m not saying that people didn’t find value in their work, but everything seemed so much more laid back and less career driven. I really enjoyed my time there. Everything felt slower-paced and people oriented. This ideology has prompted me to reflect on my own goals and what I want out of this adventure called life. Am I putting so much pressure on myself and my future that I’m not enjoying the simple things that make life great?

So what do you think? Is our society putting so much emphasis on getting ahead in work that we’re forgetting to invest in other important aspects of our lives? Do you think we’ve embodied a live to work or work to live culture? While I don’t know the answer, working to live seems like the more rewarding option. What are your thoughts?

“Remember, George: No man is a failure who has friends.”

It’s a Wonderful Life

Bibliography

“Today’s Thought.” Real Simple Home & Lifestyle Network. Time Inc. Lifestyle Group, 17 Sept. 2012. Web. 23 June 2013. <http://realsimpleblog.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/091712-dt.gif?w=640&gt;.

4 thoughts on “Work to live

    Annie Banannie said:
    June 23, 2013 at 10:18 pm

    Hi Megan!
    (I’m a KU grad so I will forgive you being a KSU student heh heh). I was browsing though the “freshly pressed” section and was immediately drawn to your photos of Europe. It made me instantly “homesick” for France, where I lived for a couple years between undergrad and grad school.

    You are dead right that Americans have it bass-ackwards in our attitude towards work. I like how hardworking we are but it is literally killing us as a society.

    Your academic adviser is a moron and should be fired for giving such CRAPPY advice. I am in my 30s and am working on a game plan to create my OWN job freelancing so I can move to France and live the life I want on my OWN terms. It’s going to take some time but I’m not letting a lack of an English/journalism degree stop me. I have a fulltime job which I am very grateful for but my real passion is writing and Europe and I am working on making the two work for me.

    I whole-heartedly recommend the book ’48 Days to the Work You Love’ by Dan Miller. He talks about finding or creating the work of your dreams. It takes a lot of introspection and elbow grease, but it is being done every day. I do not plan to spend my entire adult working life in the United States and will put in the hard work it takes to come up with an exit plan!

    I look forward to more blog posts!!!

      Megan Coffroth responded:
      June 27, 2013 at 8:20 pm

      Annie,

      Thanks so much for your comment! I really appreciate your affirmation of my thoughts. Moving to France sounds so exciting and it sounds like you’re taking the steps to make it happen! Thanks for the book recommendation too. I will definitely check it out!

    University Foodie said:
    June 27, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    I’ve always been really motivated academically, and always thought I was more of a “live to work” type of person. In the last few years, though, I’ve started to realize that there needs to be a balance. I definitely grew up being told to work your hardest and always plan ahead. And I do think all of that is important, but it’s also made extremely exhausted. There’s no point in living that kind of lifestyle if I’m not enjoying life itself. Everything will work out, as long as you’re somewhere that makes you happy.

      Megan Coffroth responded:
      June 27, 2013 at 8:20 pm

      I completely agree. I feel like I’m constantly torn between planning ahead and enjoying where I’m at. I trying to achieve balance and learn that there are certain things that are just out of my control.

Leave a Reply

